Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command

NAVFAC Announces 2016 Sailors of the Year

12/21/16 12:00 AM

By NAVFAC Headquarters Public Affairs

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- Naval Facilities Engineering Command (NAVFAC) announced Petty Officer First Class (SCW) Russell Lauver and Petty Officer First Class (SCW/SW) Maurice Johnson as its 2016 Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year in a message released Dec. 21.

"The nominees for this year's award display the leadership, character, and institutional and technical expertise that have come to exemplify the standards of our enlisted force," said NAVFAC Commander Rear Adm. Bret Muilenburg. "Petty Officer Lauver and Petty Officer Johnson stand at the front of this group. Congratulations and well done!"

Lauver received the Sea Sailor of the Year Award for meritorious service while serving in a previous assignment as leading petty officer and shop supervisor at Public Works Department (PWD) Bahrain. Lauver is now assigned to Naval Special Warfare Group 2 Logistics and Support Unit.

Under his steady guidance and mission-focused drive, his team of 47 military and civilian personnel processed nearly 8000 work orders requiring more than 18,000 labor hours, all during a single year.

Johnson received the Shore Sailor of the Year award for meritorious service while assigned to PWD Yokosuka as power plant manager and self-help division operations chief.

He expertly managed 18 local and national personnel and oversaw the daily operations of a $140 million power plant, consisting of an electricity and steam cogeneration plant, frequency converter plant, and emergency diesel generators in support of Seventh Fleet forward-deployed forces at Fleet Activities Yokosuka.


Share This Page

1322 Patterson Ave. SE, Suite 1000, Washington Navy Yard, D.C. 20374-5065

  • Please read this Privacy Policy
Connect with Us